Press Releases


Washington, D.C. Today Better Medicare Alliance (BMA), a leading advocacy coalition of nearly 130 organizations and 400,000 senior advocates, identified 23 members of the 116th Congress as “Medicare Advantage Champions” for their leadership standing up for 22 million Americans enrolled in Medicare Advantage.

Twenty-three members of Congress were chosen for leading efforts to galvanize 368 members of Congress to sign a letter of support for Medicare Advantage and sponsoring legislation to protect the affordability of Medicare Advantage.

Bipartisan support for Medicare Advantage, which includes one-third of Americans enrolled in Medicare, continues to grow as more people enroll in Medicare Advantage which continues to demonstrate success in improving health outcomes at an affordable cost.

Medicare Advantage Champions comprise eight senators including Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY), Sen. Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID), Sen. Cory Gardner (R-CO), Sen. Doug Jones (D-AL), Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC), Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and Sen. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ).

Fifteen members of the U.S. House of Representatives were named Champions including Rep. Ami Bera (D-CA), Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA), Rep. Larry Buchson (R-IN), Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY), Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA), Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX), Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), Rep. David P. Roe R-TN), Rep. Jason Smith (R-MO), Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY), and Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-IN).

View the entire list of 368 Medicare Advantage Champions and Supporters here.

2019-04-03 (3).png